Writing advice from YOU: Getting that story out of your head…

It all started with a tweet from @MsEmmaWinter:

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 12.26.32

And we thought, wow, that’s a great question! We bet our talented Twitter followers have some great advice about that.

Sure enough, we got a few fantastic tips for busting through that brainstorming block:

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 12.29.01Jesselle said:

I suggest you write down keywords first. Make an outline. How do you see the story in your head?

Who are your characters? What do they do? How does the setting look like?

As you build the world of your story, listen to music that will help set its mood. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 12.31.44Cethan said:

Watch a good movie! I find it helpful to watch a great story to inspire and construct your own.ย  I stole this tip from Don Draper and was surprised how well it works for unclogging the brain.

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 12.33.47Sara O’Connor (our Editorial Director) said:

If the project feels too big, I love the tip to keep a 1 inch photo frame by your writing space and sayย all I need to do right now is write the words to fill that space. Breaks the process into easy chunks.

Pretty great advice! Do you have any other tips for getting that story out of your head and onto the page? Please post below!

3 responses to “Writing advice from YOU: Getting that story out of your head…

  1. Take a train journey, a pen, a notebook, no phone, no internet, no conversation, no crossword. Aim to draw it with explanatory notes, like a biology diagram. Enjoy the ink on the paper. Works for me.

  2. There was a time when I’d gone totally blank, it was a complete blackout…all my characters were collapsing and reaching a dead end!!! please don’t be alarmed I came out of that clampdown very soon…..I began cooking and talking to myself about my characters, I discussed their traits, fears and desires, pretending I was in the oprah winfrey show, it gave me a boost big time…. and both the food and the scenes eventually came out of the calamity.

  3. I focus on just one aspect of the idea. Maybe finding a character’s name, a compelling setting, or simply looking up a word that’s echoing in your head. If you’ve got an idea you can’t write down yet, maybe it just begs more background!

Leave a Reply

