Making the invisible visible

Whipple, Natalie 2Today’s blog comes from Natalie Whipple, the author of TRANSPARENT. This fabulous novel comes out in just a few weeks — and trust us when we say you won’t want to miss it! Aside from being a brilliant writer and Natalie is also a very talented artist. She even made a special drawing for today’s blog. Check out her thoughts in words and pictures below.

Hello! I’m Natalie. And this is my novel TRANSPARENT. We’re both really happy that Hot Key Books has decided to bring us (okay not me, just TRANSPARENT) to the UK! Of all the places overseas that I’d hoped to sell to, the UK was number one. First because you guys are awesome, of course, and also because half my family lives in New Zealand. Now they will get to see my book on a shelf, too, which makes me very happy.

TRANSPARENT
TRANSPARENT will be coming to you May 16th, and that day will be huge for me because I’ll finally be a published author—something I’ve been trying to become for the majority of the last decade. Though it is my first published novel, it is actually the 10th novel I’ve written. And I had to write it twice to get it right, which was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do as an author. It was worth it to be able to have this moment now, where my dreams have been realized.

And it will be a big day for you because you’ll get to read TRANSPARENT and love it and make it your own! At least I hope so. I think it’s a pretty awesome book. I might be biased, but how could you not love a story featuring an invisible main character? Fiona is still one of the most challenging and interesting characters I’ve ever written, and I’m so glad the world gets to meet her.

Fiona and Lauren

Fiona lives in a world where everyone knows about superpowers and mutations, and not everyone uses those abilities for good. Okay, most people don’t. Like Fiona’s dad, for example, who uses his addictive scent to control women and build a cutthroat crime syndicate. In the scene I’ve drawn for this post, invisible Fiona and her telekinetic mother are out on a job for said father. A job that will change the course of their lives.

I would tell you more, but I don’t like to spoil things. If you decide to pick up TRANSPARENT, I really hope you love it as much as I do. Thanks to Hot Key for hosting me today.

2 responses to “Making the invisible visible

  1. Love this! A great depiction of the fantastic introductory scene I read in your arc. Very cool!

  2. Intriguing! I shall look out for it . . .

Leave a Reply

