Dressing Up for World Book Day

Hi, I’m Little M and I share a book blog with my mum called We Sat Down. I love reading and horse riding. I play on the Year 8 netball squad for my school. I have a yellow labrador and when I’m older I would like to work with animals (e.g. be a vet).

World Book Day was one of my favourite days in primary school because we could dress up as any character from our favourite book. I loved it. There were also prizes for the best costume and sculpture/scene from a book.

I can remember that I went as Hermione Granger from Harry Potter twice. I also went as Saucepan Man from Enid Blyton’s Magic Faraway Tree.  I dressed up in frying pans and colanders for that one. The teachers were not impressed.

When I was in Year 4, I went as Mildred from The Worst Witch. I made a satchel out of card and fabric.

World Book Day 2009 - Worst Witch

I also designed and sewed Tabby, her cat. It took me ages.

World Book Day - Mildred's cat designed and sewn by Little M age 9

In Year 5, I went as Marley from Marley and Me. And then in Year 6 I went as Joey from War Horse.  I designed and made the whole horse: the head, the legs, the back and tail. It involved drawing, cutting, painting, gluing, stapling, ripping and thinking. It took ages. But in the end it was amazing and I won!

Wordl Book Day 2011 - War Horse side

For the prizes, there were £10 book tokens but the year I won we didn’t have them. I was so sad. Instead, I got 10 house points which didn’t help our house at all because we always lost.

Now in Year 8 I wish that we could have World Book Day like that. My amazing English teacher and our school bookclub are going to do something at lunch on World Book Day. There will be a small book sale (secondhand) and some recommendations on books you might like to read.

If I dressed up this year for World Book Day I would go as Tris from Divergent (by Veronica Roth). I’d go in black clothes – or grey!

How are you celebrating World Book Day this year? Are you dressing up? Let us know in the comments below!

6 responses to “Dressing Up for World Book Day

  1. Little M,
    Your horse costume is amazing and puts my planned costume for my son to shame ( a blog of green face pain on his nose for the Gruffalo).
    Have a wonderful World Book Day

  2. I am in awe of your War Horse costume too! That’s so amazing! What a great post 🙂

  3. Your Joey costume is amazing, little M! I wish I could still dress up for world book day too.

  4. I love all the costumes-the War Horse one especially! I miss the days when we could dress up…I only had three- we didn’t even get years 3-6 dressing up. Evil school!

  5. Thanks Caroline, Sarah, and Georgia. Also thanks to Hot Key for putting this up.

  6. I love your costumes – I’m not surprised the horse one took a while to make, it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

