eBooks — The Good Things!

GeorgiaWaltersHi! I’m Georgia- I’m nearly thirteen, and an avid reader, writer and blogger. I love to read any kinds of books I can find, mainly adventure, horror, and crime. I read and review books as a hobby, and hope to get a job as either an author or something in the publishing world one day. I blog about books at this address: www.booksandwritersjnr.wordpress.com.

A big thanks, firstly, to Hot Key Books for letting me do a guest post on their brilliant blog. It was hard to decide what to write about but I finally decided to write about ebooks; the good things about them and the future of them, as most people just point out the bad things.

Real books are brilliant–it’s so great to walk around book shops, to hold a book in your hands and turn the pages. However, ebooks arrived a few years ago, and the market for them totally blew up (in a good way, of course!) with the introduction to the Kindle. As sad as it is to see fewer bookshops on the streets, e-Books are pretty great inventions. Most people focus on the bad things, but there are many good aspects too, here are a few:

  •  If a friend recommends a book to you, no matter where you are or what time it is, you can download and start reading that book easily.
  • Although e-Readers and iPhones use electricity, they save paper (and trees!).
  • Also, they are easier to transport than a real book (especially if it’s a big one like Under My Hat, the collection of witchy short stories).

Above all of those reasons, though, I think that the best thing about ebooks is the invention of interactive books, like the Maggot Moon and A World between Us iBooks, for example.

MAGGOTMOONSCREENSHOT

In the Maggot Moon iBook, there are animations that show the reader what it is like to see through Sally Gardner’s and the main character of the book, Standish Treadwell’s eyes. Both are dyslexic, and it’s a great achievement what Sally has done; writing such great, unforgettable books with dyslexia. There are other extras on the interactive book too, like interviews with Sally Gardner, pictures, the ability to tweet quotes from the book, and little snippets about Sally and how she wrote the book too.

MAGGOTMOONSCREENSHOT2

I think that the interactive activities in the enhanced editions of Maggot Moon and A World Between Us help reluctant readers to get stuck into great books. After all, the animations and extras really bring the story to life just as well as the words the writer wrote do! That, I think, is the most special thing about ebooks; they help to involve readers with their extras and accessibility.

What do you think the future will be like for books, and ebooks? Will the paper book cease to exist one day, whilst everybody ends up with an eReader? Although more people are reading thanks to them, I heard some shocking facts about how, in some countries, people have only ever read books on their phone. I really hope that the proper book doesn’t fade from existence… even though ebooks seem to be overpowering them at the moment. As great and innovative as ebooks are, real books will always be the best for me. What about you?

4 responses to “eBooks — The Good Things!

  1. I can understand the advantages of ebooks, I love the idea of interactive books and I love the fact that they get more people reading so I’m not against ebooks at all I just found that they weren’t for me.

    I bought a Kindle last year and for some reason or another I just couldn’t get on with it (I only managed to finish one book on there).

    So I hope that there will always be a market for physical books and I really hope the two can co-exist, after all it really would be a shame to see book stores completely vanish from the high street altogether!

    Fab post 😀

  2. I think as long as there is a demand, the physical book will continue to exist.

    I like a good physical book here and there, but I have to say that for me, nothing beats my ereaders. I LOVE reading on the Kindle and my iPad. I would always rather have a device with me than a big bulky book. And I love audiobooks too! Really I want choice — just like I can choose what to read, I also want to have a choice about how to read it.

  3. Brilliant post Georgia. I find I can’t read of screans very well because sometimes the word go all blury, but I have startted to read of my iPad now and it is becoming less blury. 🙂

  4. Awesome post! I love my kindle, and since getting it I find I’m reading much more – it’s so light! I still buy print books too, but generally only hardbacks or books that I have already read and love. Having a kindle means that my physical bookshelf is more of a ‘best of’ rather than an out of control display of ‘every book I’ve ever read EVER’ – I love that!

Leave a Reply

