Our 2013 Reading Resolutions

Ah, New Years Resolutions. A chance to set a high bar for ourselves in almost any aspect of our lives. So why not reading?


Not surprisingly, many of the HKB staff have set their own reading resolutions for 2013. We’ll try to check back in June to see how everyone is doing:

My boyfriend and I are sharing a reading resolution where we have to read one book of the other’s choosing per month. I’m going to be reading a lot of the great American classics, and he will be knee deep in YA! It should broaden both of our horizons…
Becca Langton, Editorial Assistant

I am going to read one non-fiction book for every four fiction books I read. Hopefully I will actually finish these non-fiction books and not just leave them halfway like I usually do!
Amy Orringer, Digital Coordinator

Mine would be to try and read more, especially adult fiction and perhaps dabble with some non-fiction too!
Megan Farr, PR Manager

My Big Reading News Year’s Resolution is to make more time to read books which aren’t our submissions! There is also a biography of Johnny Cash that I’ve been eyeing up for months, and I would very much like to finish Jenny Uglow’s biography of Hogarth. And, having recently bought THE DIVINERS, I would now like to read pretty much anything by Libba Bray.
Naomi Colthurst, Editorial Assistant

Mine is to make friends with my kindle and read ebooks.  I am still so wedded to the print format and I think that it would be good to enjoy the digital format a bit more.
Sarah Odedina, Managing Director

Read at least 26 non-work books. One every two weeks.
Sara O’Connor, Editorial Director, Print and Digital

Mine is to read more out of my comfort zone. More graphic novels, more funny books and generally things I wouldn’t normally read.
Sarah Benton, Sales & Marketing Manager

Mine would be to read no more than two books at one time (instead of numerous ones, which means it takes me an age to finish any of them). And be strict about time put aside for work-related reading and time for books for my own pleasure – more adult fiction, and more poetry!
Georgia Murray, Editor

I definitely need to read more adult fiction – there are so many great books that I pass by on my way to the non-fiction! Also, most definitely I need to at least attempt CRIME & PUNISHMENT. It’s been staring at me for two years now!!  
Cait Davies, Sales & Marketing Executive

So what are your reading goals for 2013? We’ve heard the best way to keep your resolution is to tell someone, so write yours below and we’ll check in with you in the summer too!

4 responses to “Our 2013 Reading Resolutions

  1. My new year’s reading resolution is to never EVER get over how I felt when I’d finished ANNA KARENINA last year ….. :) And Cait – I never got past the first chapter of CRIME AND PUNISHMENT – might try again. Sarah O – I need to get a bit more digitally savvy too…. :)

  2. Mine is to read – at long last – my copy of Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom. I bought it just before they realised it had been printed with the uncorrected text, which shows how long I’ve had it and not read it. And I *know* I will relish it so don’t know why I keep putting it off.

  3. Some wonderful resolutions here – I hope you all have fun fulfilling them this year! Reading more eBooks is one of my 2013 reading resolutions much to the relief of my already overloaded bookshelf! And I’d like to be more adventurous and try new genres. Happy reading in 2013!

  4. I have a stack of books to read, I am trying to get out of the box though with what I read. I usually like very personal, true stories. This year I am trying to branch out, the first on my list was a book called Blood Land, it is fiction, and a crime, murder mystery type book. Thought I was going to hate it, but ended up loving it! It’s by R.S. Guthrie (rsguthrie.com if you want to take a look) and he has several other books I may just add to my list! Good luck with your reading!

Leave a Reply

