We like our love triangular (sometimes)

Following on from our conversation on Tuesday, we decided to investigate the HKB perspective on love triangles just a bit further. Perhaps it’s because we’re so excited about this love triangle, or it might just be because love triangles are so fascinating! Interestingly, people in our offices could almost instantly name a love triangle they remembered from their teenage years (ahem, Spike-Buffy-Angel). So we put out a little poll to our staff about love triangles, and thought we might share a few responses:

What love triangles did you remember from when you were growing up?

Becca Langton, Editorial Assistant: I suppose I could always sense the tension between Julian, Dick and George. That’s about as far as it went. Romance did not feature heavily in the books that I liked to read. This makes me look back my little self with a  bit of pity and a bit of pride that I was so pure. Like  a 19th century nun I knew none of this wickedness.

Kate Manning, Sales and Marketing Director: PRETTY IN PINK. That’s all I’m saying.

Sarah Odedina, Managing Director: GOLDILOCKS AND THE THREE BEARS.  Those bears were having none of her nonsense coming in and trying to cause trouble.

Meg Farr, PR Manager: Linton, Catherine, and Heathcliff from WUTHERING HEIGHTS–that book had a big impact on me when I was 11 it was all so wild, cruel and visceral and left a lasting impression.

Sarah Benton, Sales and Marketing Manager: The Dawson-Joey-Pacey love triangle was my teenage favourite!

Are there any love triangles in the books/TV/movies you consume today? Which ones?

Meg: I really enjoyed the Bridget Jones, Daniel Cleaver, and Mark Darcy love triangle – wonderfully satisfying.

Naomi, Editorial Assistant: In a moment of exhaustion and emotional over-wroughtness I found myself crying on a plane at the end of one of the Twilights (I had been up for 24 hours OK?! I had just been charged a huge amount for excesses baggage – I was a woman on the edge!) when Bella has a moment of premonition of what her life might be like if she chose Jacob instead (something about kids running through a forest…I can’t remember, lack of sleep had muddled my brain) and just feeling terrible, REALLY TERRIBLE for Jacob. So I cried, and hated stupid Bella for being so crap.

Sarah O: Dangerous Liaisons.  My absolutely all time favourite story of muddled up relationships.  The terrible tragedy of how it all goes so horribly wrong.

How has your perspective on love triangles changed since your childhood?

Sarah O: I suspect I still feel the same – a bit stressed at the possibility of all that anguish but kind of compelled to see what happens next!

Amy: I think I feel worse for the person who gets the short end of the stick. When I was an angsty teenager, I felt like everything was justified, and pain was just a part of love. Too bad for you third wheel! But now that I’m older and actually in love, I just feel awful for the person who gets their heart broken.

Why do you think people like to read about love triangles?

Becca: I guess people like to read about love triangles because they’re tense and exciting and you can have characters that you champion, but I hate girls that cheat because I think it makes them less trustworthy and you don’t get so many boys with two girls! There was the love triangle of Todd and Viola and Lee in MONSTERS OF MEN which was great–but it was really complicated too. I think I’m the only person in the world who doesn’t want romance in my literature. I don’t like romance I like adventure and ghosts. I’m effectively an 8 year old boy. Kissing = gross.

Naomi: I don’t think there’s anything wrong with love triangles – in fact I usually really enjoy them as they add a nice bit of dramatic tension – but it has to be believable! I have to really feel that there is a definite and difficult decision to be made about which guy (or girl) is the right guy (or girl) – I don’t think it counts as a love triangle when one person in the triangle is clearly an idiot that the other person would never pick in real life.

Meg:  I think it fulfills most people’s fantasy – every girl wants the good guy and the bad guy but can’t have both and everyone likes to feel wanted!

What do you think? What was your favourite love triangle from the books/movies/TV shows you consumed as a kid? Do you think love triangles will stand the test of time, or are they done?

Leave a Reply

