How Audio Books Happen

(I almost called this post, “Do You Hear What I Hear?” because I watched the second half of Love, Actually last night and feel all Christmassy.)

Anyway… those of you who have been with us for a while (hello, Linda!) might remember this post from Georgia.ย  Well, at last, the inspiration behind it has completed it’s journey: the MAGGOT MOON audio book is out!

But the thing that I wanted to blog about today was this awesome behind-the-scene sneak peek at what it’s like recording an audio book – which includes tips from the producer about hw to get into audio recording… Our reader is the incredible Robert Madge – a sixteen-year-old with enormous talent. We are so lucky to have found him!


If you want to hear more of the end product of Robert reading, you can hear samples iTunes and Audible.

5 responses to “How Audio Books Happen

  1. Wow! I am once more amazed at the things I learn from the Hot Key blogs.
    It is a voyage of discovery for me, every time the HK bloggers post something I have a little bit more education about the publishing business zipped into my head. I have come to realise there is not just traditional physical book, there are now e-books and of course ( I had forgotten) audio
    books, and dare I might ask-will there be braille

    • We won’t produce braille ourselves but would be happy to license those rights — and if it’s a charitable organisation, we don’t charge them.

  2. I really want a peek at the interactive Maggot Moon, but alas! No iPad! I’ve got an interest in alternative ways to read and that sounds so cool form the blog post the other day!

    • Glad you think it sounds cool. I wish we could have an iPad to loan out to people like you! I wish the whole world could see it… There are some bits and pieces of it on the maggotmoon.com website?

  3. Just about to sit down to read (and review) Maggot Moon: can’t wait! Personally, I like to read a paper book first, so I can ‘create’ it for myself: it feels to me like the purest interaction between the author and the reader because no one else intervenes. Well, yes, I know there are agents and editors and illustrators and so on, but still . . . An audio book can add something wonderful in the shape of the actor-reader’s interpretation (again, Stephen Fry and Harry Potter), although that can also be a disadvantage: more than once I’ve been jolted out of a story by an odd emphasis or mispronunciation. Haven’t got a digital-magicky-ipod-thingy to compare yet, but when I do it will be interesting to discover whether it leads me deeper into the story or not. Or is the point that you ADD extra levels to the story?

Leave a Reply

