Blog on Blog(s) – Part 6

We’re really pleased with the feedback and continued interest in our list we’ve had from the wonderful book blogging community out there – who can I remind you again are blogging, reviewing, promoting reading and authors for no pay at all, while also normally juggling a full time job, children, or exams.

So, I’m really pleased that we have been able to give space on our blog to feature some of these great bloggers, and today we have another one for you. Cait Lomas from The Cait Files joins us today for a quick Q&A (and my BIG apologies to Cait for the delay in posting this!)

Name & blog
I’m Caitlin and my blog is The Cait Files (http://thecaitfiles.blogspot.com)

Tell us a bit about your blog… Well I post reviews for YA titles, both my own and review copies and also fortnightly discussion posts and features such as blog tour stops and giveaways.

How did you start blogging?
From Twitter actually! I followed a load of book bloggers on Twitter and then, in the depths of despair that is writing one’s dissertation I took the leap and made my own blog. I really should give some credit to Cassie Clare, I read 4 of her books (the ones that were out at the time) and loved them SO MUCH that I felt I had to review them.

What’s the best thing about blogging?
For me it’s the recommendations. Before I started blogging I’d gotten into a bit of a rut, only reading new books by my favourite authors. I’ve reverted back to the adventurousness of my teenage years thanks to reading about all the amazing books out there on everyone’s blogs. I also really love having so many people to talk books with, I will seriously talk books with anyone. Even people who hate reading. Especially people who hate reading! I’d also like to work in publishing, and blogging has allowed me to learn so much about how the whole industry works, that’s been a definite and unexpected bonus.

What kind of books are you most excited about reviewing?
At the moment, contemporary fiction.  I didn’t read any at all for about 5 years so I have A LOT to catch up on! I will always have a love of paranormal fiction, it’s the main thing I read. And anything with a misunderstood, emotionally crippled, fairly amoral bad boy. Ultimate favourite.

Who are your favourite authors?
Sarah Rees Brennan, Cassie Clare, Maggie Stiefvater, Holly Black, Veronica Roth, Richelle Mead, Melina Marchetta, Lili St. Crow, Melissa Marr, LJ Smith and Ruth Warbuton.

Do you have any advice for new bloggers?
Don’t blog for any ulterior motive other than pure love of books. It’s too much work to do otherwise! Always be honest, there is some pressure to write glowing reviews of every book you’ll read, but not everyone loves everything. Be honest but tactful, no need to get insulting! Definitely get a Twitter account, you chat more with people on there and it’s a great way to stalk your favourite authors *cough* Make sure you have a neat, easy to navigate blog layout, nothing overly fancy, and network as much as you can! But most of all: enjoy it, not much point doing it otherwise!

Thanks so much Cait! I love that you are reading Contemporary Fiction right now – everyone loves a bad boy 🙂 We’d love to continue this feature or invite guest blogs from ANYONE that wants to write for us! Just get in touch.

Leave a Reply

