One Ring to find them*

*’them’ being ‘books’ in this instance.

So which bit of the book to do you look at to help you decide whether to read it?  Are you a jacket and back cover copy person?  Do you read the first few lines or pick a page randomly?   (Admittedly, when MUCH younger I thought reading the last paragraph was a cunning plan.  That soon stopped when I discovered the Crime genre…)

Here at Hot Key Towers we’ve come up with a plan that should help.  Ladies and gentlemen, the Hot Key Ring!

(We also, in our rather cake based way, called it the Data Doughnut for a while.)

This little darling is going to appear on the back of every book, just by the barcode, to explain what the book is about.  This one shows the contents of SHRUNK! which we’re classing as being a mixture of ‘fun’, ‘science’, ‘friendship’ and ‘magic’, with ‘fun’ being the main element.

The themes listed, the amounts for said theme and the colours used will vary from book to book, but it will always be there, lurking with intent.

Hopefully you’ll find this useful – let us know what you think!  (And let us know if you too read the final paragraph first.  I’m sure I wasn’t the only one.)

12 responses to “One Ring to find them*

  1. I always read the last page first… and read the spoilers on IMDB too.

  2. Such a great idea! I love that they are also referred to as the ‘ingredients’ on the AI!

  3. I like this idea. It’s annoying when you think a book will be about one thing but it’s not. I admit it’s the cover that often draws me and then the blurb.

  4. saraathotkey

    In case anyone is wondering… that’s the Hot Key Ring for the fabulous SHRUNK! by F R Hitchcock, coming in September. Who couldn’t love a book that is 50% fun?

  5. I love this idea, it’s very helpful when browsing your catalogue 🙂

  6. Love it! Now I’m thinking you should have a cool slider app to go with it, so a parent/teacher/kid can put in their ideal percentages and the app will return the perfect fit Hot Key Book. Yay! You could even start with a low-tech cardboard version in bookstores.

    • saraathotkey

      Amy, great minds… I think you’ll be pleased when our books website turns up this summer.

  7. This is a great way to make books as accessible as possible from the off – and I have to confess that, at 37, I still sometimes read the last page first. Maybe this will help curb that habit…

  8. I really like this idea! I hate having books spoilt for me by back cover copy when I’m really just looking for an idea of how much of what kind of stuff it’s got in it. This way of breaking it down is so clever! Nicely done.

  9. This sounds like a fab idea! I usually have to wait until I get home and have access to a computer to go on Goodreads and see what the book is actually like. This would be so much easier and helpful!

  10. Pingback: More boys, more blogs and one year at Hot Key Books |

  11. Pingback: Reading Agency Roadshow. | View from my Velux

Leave a Reply

