Blog on Blog(s) – Part 5

Over the last few months we’ve been profiling some of the wonderful book bloggers out there, who give up their time to get behind the books they love. For anyone who has missed them – here are the first four posts below:

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

The feature is back today with the spotlight on Laura H, from SisterSpooky: Book Fangirl. Welcome to the Hot Key Blog Laura!

Name & blog

My name is Laura H and my blog name is SisterSpooky: Book Fangirl

 Tell us a bit about your blog…

 My blog is a YA review blog that has a mix of reviews and posts about just the books and authors I really love.  I try and put a bit of my personality in there too and so far people seem to like that.  Well; they haven’t complained or run off screaming so that’s a good thing I guess!

How did you start blogging?

I started blogging after years of doing a personal blog on good old Livejournal and found myself basically talking about books all the time on there.  I read a few book blogs and spoke to a few bloggers at events and they encouraged me to just start my own.  So I did. TA DA!

What’s the best thing about blogging?

All the other bloggers who treat each other like family.  Plus I’ve met and even become friends (don’t know if they’d call me that or just a chirpy fan) with some authors whose books I just LOVE.  I won’t name names but they know who they are for sure!

What kind of books are you most excited about reviewing?

Usually I love supernatural YA books because I’ve always had a thing for supernatural and paranormal stories since I was young, but I just love reading a book the makes me laugh.  Laugh really hard.  Plus anything that’s a bit geeky and nerdy appeals to my geek girl heart.

Who are your favourite authors?

How long do you have?  I love so many authors that I get a bit scared having to make a list in case I miss anyone off.  Richelle Mead, Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, C.J.Skuse, Marcus Sedgwick, Zoe Marriott, Will Hill, Keris Stainton, Sarwat Chadda, Cat Clarke, Tanya Byrne and also this little debut author who I may have mentioned once or twice Andy Robb (totally being sarcastic cause I haven’t shut up about him or his book since I read it.  Sorry!)

If I missed anyone then I’m so sorry but there are loads!  Maybe just check out my blog to see who I keep on about. *giggles*

Do you have any advice for new bloggers?

Read as much as you can, don’t do it to get free books or expect to be meeting authors every 3 seconds. Chat with other bloggers because they are the nicest people I’ve ever met and will always help and answer questions.  Most importantly: put a bit of yourself in the way you blog and review.  It’ll make your blog unique to you!

Thanks Laura! You can follow Laura on Twitter here.

If anyone else would like to take part in our feature on blogs please email me!. We’re also always on the look out for guest bloggers to post articles on our blog, so please get in touch if you’re interested in that too.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

