The office of cake and relaxation

As your average university graduate trying to build up their portfolio of work experience I’ve seen a pretty wide range of offices; from tiny close-knit families to huge organisations. From frantically putting together boxes of cupcakes with a cookbook author who forgot about an important meeting, to arranging dot-to-dots of eight legged frogs and robotic dinosaurs.

Now I’m not sure if this opinion is due to my lightened responsibilities as the intern rocking the stitched-up-hand look, or if it really is true, but compared to my other work placements so far Hot Key is definitely at the top of the chilled scale. Fiction does tend to be a little slower than the non-fiction world I’m used to, but this place seems organised…suspiciously well organised. Gorgeous books, lovely people… could this be a Stepford Publishing company? Further investigation may be necessary.

I always seem to be working around the main Book Fairs and knowing that I would be here in the run up to London I had geared myself up for making a mountain of dummy books, churning out new A.Is, and generally running around like crazy. But instead was faced with a surprisingly serene atmosphere… with a wide selection of deserts. They say that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and I can definitely say this theory works for interns too; cheesecake, cupcakes, ice cream, and even a delicious peanut butter and chocolate pie!

Delicious!

Forget the investigation, you’ve won me over. Hot key… I think I love you.

(P.S. I wholeheartedly apologise, this is what comes of writing a blog right before lunch!)

8 responses to “The office of cake and relaxation

  1. I must confess, there is a little bit of AAAHHH happening before the fair. It’s just happening quietly.

  2. haha – I’m with Sara – I don’t feel that calm right now!! But yes, I am being quiet about it 🙂

  3. After reading this blog I feel as though I have entered into the wrong career. Hearing you get cheesecake at work means it doesn’t surprise me that you love being an intern at Hot Key! I hope you enjoy the rest of your time as their intern and congrats on what seems like an ideal placement for you!

  4. Please can you post the pudding recipe looks devine! Oh and why is your hand stitched up?????

  5. I was also bracing for madness and instead found myself almost forgetting there was a book fair coming up! A lovely office, indeed…

  6. It sounds like being an Intern at Hot Key is a dream – what with the ice cream and all! Glad you’re emjoying it 🙂

Leave a Reply

