Blog on blog(s) – part three

Over the last few weeks, as you know, we’ve been inviting our blogging friends to take part in a short interview with us (see parts one and two of this thread here), and today it’s time for two more featured bloggers. Welcome to the stage Jesse from Books4Teens and Lynsey from Narratively Speaking. Thanks guys:

Name & blog
Lynsey Newton, Narratively Speaking

Tell us a bit about your blog…
I started book blogging two years ago now as a way of sharing my thoughts and feelings about books I was reading. I review Young Adult books and thoroughly enjoy it!

How did you start blogging?
See above. I didn’t have anyone to talk to about the books I was reading basically.

What’s the best thing about blogging?
The best thing is being able to share your enthusiasm and love of reading with like minded people. I’ve made some amazing friends through blogging and had the opportunity to meet some of my favourite authors. Having tea with Maggie Stiefvater has been one of the highlights!

What kind of books are you most excited about reviewing?
I prefer to read Young Adult books but I like all genres within the YA market – romance, historical, science fiction, fantasy.

Who are your favourite authors?
This is a really difficult question as there are so many! Maggie Stiefvater, Lauren Oliver, Beth Revis, Cassandra Clare…

Do you have any advice for new bloggers?
Write honest and thoughtful reviews and then network with other bloggers who will support and help you. Visit other blogs and make a note of what you like about it and what you think they are doing right. Comment on other blogs and get yourself on twitter where most of the book conversations are happening.

—-
Name & blog
Jesse Owen – Books 4 Teens

Tell us a bit about your blog…
Books 4 Teens is essentially a book blog for teens. I regularly post reviews of books than teen fiction and the occasional middle grade title (there’s just some that I can’t resist). I also post the occasional interview, feature and discussion post.  Basically it’s mixed bag of posts all about the type of books that I enjoy reading!

How did you start blogging?
I harbour a (probably unrealistic) dream of one day actually finishing writing a book. Back at the end of January 2010 I decided it might be a good idea to start a blog to record the books I’d read and what I thought of them. As a way of expanding the selection of books that I was reading and to learn what I liked in books and what I perhaps didn’t like so much.

I didn’t think anyone would really be interested in reading my thoughts so I was very surprised when I started getting comments.

What’s the best thing about blogging?
I’m a (very, very, very) quiet person so the biggest thing for me was meeting (via Twitter) all these amazing book bloggers, authors, publicists and having something to talk about which I can’t really do anywhere else.

It’s also amazing to discover new books that other bloggers are reading.  The community is so passionate that if you’re ever trying to find a new book to read you’re only a click away and there will be some fab recommendations waiting for you.

What kind of books are you most excited about reviewing?
I have to say books which are written for teen and young people, I’ve read adult books before but compared to teen fiction – well they just don’t compare.  Teen fiction is a wide net to cast and I tend to read quite widely within in, I do however love dystopias, contemporary and anything that’s funny.

Who are your favourite authors?
Okay, this might take some time … LA Weatherly, Nicola Morgan, Keris Stainton, Luisa Plaja, Lauren Oliver, Ally Carter, Kimberly Derting, Meg Cabot, Phillip Pullman, Sophie Jordan, Joss Sterling, Gillian Philip, Don Calame, Cat Clarke, Jenna Burtenshaw Tamsyn Murray. I think I better stop there.

Do you have any advice for new bloggers?
Have fun with it and don’t let it become something that you feel you have to do.  I would highly recommend joining Twitter and follow the other fab bloggers out there, send them a quick message and get to know them – it’s a really friendly community! And follow blogs whose authors have the same book interests as you (oh and on the flip side don’t go mad following every blog you can find – you don’t want to get information overload!)

If you are a YA blogger and want to be interviewed or write a piece for our blog just get in touch – email me on sarah.benton@hotkeybooks.com

Thanks!

Sarah

3 responses to “Blog on blog(s) – part three

  1. Pingback: Friday Five #2 | Jesse Owen

  2. Pingback: Blog on blog(s) – part four |

  3. Pingback: Blog on Blog(s) – Part 5 |

Leave a Reply

