Read and tell Mondays

As you know, here at Hot Key, we are People Who Love Books, as witnessed with last week’s post here.

And obviously we don’t only read books we might publish, or are publishing, so we thought every Monday, (in the vein of show and tell at school), we’ll stand up and tell you what we’ve read over the weekend, and if you want to, you can tell us what you read too.

So here goes – I’ll start us off…

I spent most of my Sunday reading this:

John Green should hopefully need no introduction to anyone (particularly being his new book The Fault in our Stars is currently riding high in the charts) and I have loved him since I read this passage in Looking For Alaska many years ago (and I wasn’t alone if you look at this tumblr).

Paper Towns takes you on a journey, like many of Green’s books, this time with the main character Quentin, as he searches for the girl next door – the mystery, the enigma of Margo Roth Spiegelman. It explores all the big themes and questions which I know I was asking myself as a teenager and I think one that sticks with us all – how we, more often than not, can love an idea of someone more than just that someone.

I think we all remember the first moment in your life where you discovered the real person didn’t live up to the image you’d built up of them in your head, and John Green captures this just perfectly here.

I just wish I could have read it when I was 17.

Sarah B

P.S. So who’s brave enough to go next?

10 responses to “Read and tell Mondays

  1. I read a bit of The Passage by Justin Cronin. According to the lovely Becca, I’ve barely scratched the surface, which I know to be true. The enormous book threatens to break my bedside table.
    One caveat: I don’t normally bother with adult books, but Becca was SO passionate about this book (plus she leant it to me) that I had to crack it open. And what an opening!
    I expect for the next twenty Mondays I’ll be posting about have read a bit more…

  2. Ha ha ha! I like the ‘I was drizzle, she was Herman Cain’.

    I read (almost) nothing but wonderful submissions all weekend, but I did manage to fit in a few pages of ‘Affinity’ by Sarah Waters. I like it muchly so far!

    x

  3. beccawearsredwellies

    I have just paid my entire month’s salary towards a masters in Children’s Literature – so my weekend’s reading has been largely geared towards the thesis that might justify the cost… So mine was P.W Musgrave ‘From Brown to Bunter: The life and death of the School Story.’ From Hughes, to Farrarr to Talbot Baines Reed, a veritable romp through the mid Victorian fascination with the Public School and all it had to offer (mostly canings and cricket and you’ll like it or be sent to coventry). Mind you, only up to page 85, so here’s to next week, the decline of the school novel and the rise of the Adventure book!

  4. This book sounds great, it’s on my TBR list! I’m currently reading Supernaturally by Kiersten White.

  5. Seeing as it’s Monty Monday I’d better leave a post.

    I’m currently reading the third Hunger games book. Easy to read in a Chinese take-away sort of fashion. It seems like the characters have been given a thin coating of emotion compared to the earlier books. And the setting has become insanely implausible.

    But I’m still reading it so I must enjoy it, probably to see who dies next.

  6. Thanks Victoria! You should definitely read John Green if you haven’t yet…

    @Mark – Happy Monty Monday! Good choice ahead of the film…

  7. YAY John Green! Paper Towns will always be special to me, because I was sent a copy of it for review in my early blogging days, and it was the first John Green book I ever read. *tears up* ❤

    I'm currently reading Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma. It is tres intriguing.

  8. Thanks Iffath! Paper Towns is a wonderful book.

    Imaginary Girls looks very interesting – I shall have to check it out!

  9. Another taker for the Hunger Games trilogy this weekend. I agree it did go fairly bonkers by the end, but I am itching to see the film. Loved it and now feel ‘down with the kids’ in a ‘so on top of the next Twilight’ kinda way. My husband despairs…

  10. I read and finished Saving Daisy by Phil Earle. Was a really good book, heartbreaking and realistic.

Leave a Reply

